Update: A New Season

I decided it might be a good time to update y’all. I know it’s been a while and a lot has happened in the last three and a half months.

First; I was hired at the Seattle Art Museum and will be working there when I’m not working on the farm.
I was also hired at the Root Connection farm in Woodinville, WA about thirty minutes northeast of Seattle. That work starts around mid April and goes through October just like last season. If all goes well I’ll be working at the museum in the off season and at Root Connection the rest of the year.

I moved into an apartment in north Seattle in February. It’s a great place with a small amount of space to grow my own veggies. My first attempt at urban farming. I built a small hoop house and started peas, chard and I’m trying to grow ginger. I’ve heard it can be done here. Outside I’ve got kale in the ground. More to come as I get adjusted to the new space and as it gets warmer.

That’s about it for now. Hopefully I’ll have more details this year and I’ll try to make things more interesting.

Can’t wait to see and hear about how other farms and gardens are growing too.

20130214-190732.jpg

20130214-190742.jpg

20130214-190751.jpg

Leave a Reply

