Getting Things Going on the Urban Farm

This week, and I guess for a couple of weeks now, I’ve been planning and planting for the Spring. I’m in a new space, I don’t have a lot of cash and I don’t have a lot of equipment at my disposal. This post will explain a bit of how I’m working around those things.

If you take a glance back at my last post, you’ll see the mini hoop house I put up to get some early Spring veggies started. As I was getting those veggies started, I realized it would be a lot easier if I had a table of some kind to work from. Naturally my second project should have been my first, to build a work bench.

In this first picture I have the workbench framed and basically finished. It just needs a top and bottom shelf. (sorry the pictures are out of order)

Framed and ready to finish.

Framed and ready to finish.

In this next picture I have the table top pieces in place but not secured. As a rookie I expected to mis-calculate something. In this case it was the size of nails that I was going to use on the top. That was one of many mistakes, but I’m glad I made those mistakes and can now move forward with much more confidence (and hopefully competence).

Almost finished!

Almost finished!

And the picture that should have started things off…One day I’ll learn more about WordPress and how to make simple edits like arranging pictures. Not much to tell here, just trying to show the progression.

The table starting to shape-up.

The table starting to shape-up.

3 responses to “Getting Things Going on the Urban Farm

  1. All I did was put together one of those benches from Lehman’s but it gave me such satisfaction to do it! Can only imagine how good it feels to design & build your own from scratch. And, yes, I use it constantly for all kinds of things. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

